Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2014, 06:28 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
New K3 or Better Lenses

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi All,
I have been using my trusty K10D since new, in 2007, and still like it.
While it has its limitations, I can take lots of great shots with it, and there is Nothing wrong with it, never hiccuped, perfect working and cosmetic condition.

So, do I buy a K3 or get better glass?

I have a Sigma 70-200 F2.8 APO DG Macro HSM zoom, a DA 16-45 F4, and my wife has a KX with a kit DAL 18-55 F3.5-5.6 and also a DA 50 F1.8.

Casual shooting, landscapes, wildlife, dog sled races, drag racing, car shows, nature walks and people visiting/family get together shots.

Seems like if I buy the K3 I am spending a lot of money to get a few more clean ISO registers, some bells and whistles I may not need, higher shutter speeds, cleaner pics. But, I am not doing huge prints, so my 10 Mpixel is likely good enough. I like SHARP images.

A super sharp lens will make every pic I take better, and I can switch off a DA* 16-50 F2.8 with my wife so she can get the benefits as well. Or, buy a Sigma 15-70 F2.8, but not get the weather sealing.

None of my lenses are WR, and I would like atleast 1 WR to work with my K10D.

Thoughts? Birthday is coming up, and I suspect I am inline for a present.

Live in Northern Ontario, so, unfortunately unlikely to buy from B&H or Adorama, as the warranty issue is an issue.

Thanks! Decisions, decisions. LOL

05-01-2014, 01:27 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Most people who ask a question like this make it easy. Why can't you?