Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-01-2008, 04:53 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Which one...?

Hello Pentaxians,

I'm new to this forum and seek some help here. I have been using FujiFilm S7000 for the last two years and have slowly learn photography from it. It's time to upgrade myself and after careful considerations I've decided on a Pentax. I had almost decided on K10D, but bloody K20D was released. I'm still convinced by the attractive price and me being a beginner that I should go for K10D. But the only thing that puts me off is the CCD vs CMOS. Is it such a big difference ? Am I in for a poor sensor if I stick with K10D ? Help me decide....

(FujiFilm S7000 has a CCD sensor -- they call it SuperCCD, which I was not so convinced. A 100% cropped image had fine grains at the lowest ISO settings in bright light.. -- also I never shot at the highest MP)

Second question -- Since I'm diving into SLR world, the big investment would be in lenses. I'm not interested in the 18-55 series (even mkII), but was looking at 16-45 or 16-50 SDM. I know both are great but I'm confused between f4 vs f2.8 SDM. Help me decide pls.

Thanks so much and hope to interact with you going forward,
Nish

05-01-2008, 05:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Hello Nish!

You are in a similar boat I was in , in July. I would ask you first, what can you afford? There is about a 600$ or more price difference between the two cameras. With that money you could put it toward some nice lenses. The K10d will be more than good enough for all your needs especially since you are a beginner. The sensor's image quality is top notch. Your Fuji was a CCD too right?

When you are looking at F number this indicates the lowest stop you can achieve with the lens. The simplest explanation would be the lower the number the better you can take pictures in darker situations. Also please note that at 16-45 and 16-50 you are getting alot less zoom (your range was 35-210mm).