Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-02-2008, 06:35 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
300 dpi

Hi all,

I am new to this site, but not new to Pentax. I've been shooting with an istDL for 3 years and have now upgraded to a K20D, which is technically much more advanced than I am. I want to enter a photo contest (deadline TODAY) where they require my photographs to be a minimum of 300 dpi with a total file size between 12-17 MB. When I set my K20D to 14.6 at the highest JPEG quality, my images are only 72 dpi x 72 dpi and 6 MB. I know I am technically challenged, but can someone please tell me how to achieve this image quality (300 dpi/12+MB) with the K20D? Thanks,

Julie
aka technically challenged

05-02-2008, 07:20 AM   #2

If you have Photoshop (or any other image editor), you can change the resolution to 300 dpi in the (for Photoshop) 'Image' -> 'Image Size' menu. When you've made all the adjustments you want to make to the image, save it as an uncompressed TIFF. In the future, for the highest quality images you'll want to shoot RAW or RAW + JPEG.

Good luck in the contest.
05-02-2008, 07:28 AM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks, I'm planning on going out to shoot some today and was going to give RAW + JPEG a try and I thought I could accomplish this through Photoshop, where I am also a novice, but learning. They do accept TIFF files and that was where my thinking was going.
05-02-2008, 07:29 AM   #4
Veteran Member

You sure it's not PPI instead of DPI?

I think it's PPI.

05-02-2008, 07:29 AM   #5
Veteran Member

DPI is 100% dependent on the output device and image scaling on that output device.

Thus unless contest submissions are hardcopy, it makes no sense to have a DPI requirement, only an image resolution requirement.
05-02-2008, 09:29 AM   #6

QuoteOriginally posted by Alfisti Quote

I think it's PPI.