Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-14-2014, 12:14 PM   #1

Upgrade k3 vs k5 II? (low light considerations, features, expense)

Hello all,
I am an enthusiast photographer predominantly interested in field photography related to nature, wildlife, and travel. It is now time to upgrade my current DSLR which I have been using for the last 5+ years to something that is more field hardy (weather sealing etc).

I have been very curious about the k3 (~$1250 Canadian) which looks like an absolutely amazing camera, but have also been considering the K5 II (which I have found new for ~$599 Canadian). Because of my interest in wildlife the faster AF, lower light accuracy AF and improved tracking AF of the K3 appeals significantly to me. I spend a lot of my time working as a biologist in rainforests which are extremely poorly light environments so high ISO ability and resultant noise is also quite important to me (1600-2500 is often unavoidable) and I like to avoid using flash to photograph things like primates as it is highly disturbing to the animals (especially whilst conducting behavioural research).

I have heard that the 16mp sensor of the k5 II is superior in terms of noise production at higher ISO settings to that of the K3, but that it also begins to utilize NR at ISO 1600 which can't be adjusted or turned off like it can in the k3. Also what does it mean to downsize the k3 image from 24mp to 16mp to reduce noise, making it more comparable to the k5 II (I know this can be done if shooting JPEG in the camera menu, but if shooting raw doesn't this just compress the image in post processing anyway? how does this help?). My apologies for this long list of questions, I still have a lot to learn about photography and I have to make very careful decisions when deciding to potentially drop over $1000 on a new camera body.