Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-04-2008, 10:45 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Focusing issuses?

I am new to the D-SLR thing and have had my K10D only since January. My issue is I have been struggling from the beginning to get a truely sharpe photo. This isn't true all the time, but for the most part it just doesn't cut what I should be able to do with a camera of this caliber. I take into thought user error but I have tried everything other than mirror lockup. Tripod, delayed timer and they still come out of focus it seems.
Some of the initial pictures downloaded to the computer and viewed look okay but as soon as I try to crop or zoom in I loose detail fast. No good sharp edges. Now again, my thoughts was this was just the known fact that the K10d natually shoots soft and needs a little tweeking PP or have the camera settings set for a
+2 sharppen +1 contrast but that still doesn't give me the detail I know I should get. I do alot of manual focusing ( another reason I thought it may be user ) macro/closefocus but the Tamron 90 2.5 isn't the lens I know it can be. So this is one of the reasons I believe it is a focus issue. I have let the camera do all the work with other lenses but I still get a either very soft or blurred picture.

What is a good way to really tell if it is focus vs. user and how does one know the difference between soft and out of focus?

05-12-2008, 02:06 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I am using the k100D and I find that the focusing is acceptable. Even an older lens such as the FA80-320 is sharp on my k100D. So I would guess the k10D should be at least equal (or better) in IQ as my k100D.

You might want to take a look here:
_IGP9615_neo on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

I am sure there are many other people who can show you that Pentax DSLRs actually can take very sharp pics.