Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-16-2014, 08:38 AM   #1

Why do you upgrade?

As the title saids I was just wondering with mainly DSLR bodies when & why do you upgrade?
Is it when new model comes out? win lotto? or is the older body getting too old? ie start playing up ? Or are you a person that has to have the latest & greatest item?
Also when you up grade what do you do with the old body keep for back up sell give away or just put on display or in the cupboard?
Thanks

08-16-2014, 08:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Well, in terms of cameras, I have only ever upgraded once. I bought the K-r as my first DSLR (I was a beginner and lacked funding for a K-7 or K-5). After a couple years of experience and needing additional features (TAv, WR, Level, etc) I bought the K-3.

I kept my K-r as it was not worth selling. It gets rotated in now and then as it is a fantastic camera. You can't beat the size of it with the limiteds. We also have an old K100d kicking around, the wife uses it as her main camera.

In terms of other technological gadgets, I generally run them until they die or become obsolete. However, when I buy something, I buy the newest and greatest in hopes of stalling obsolescence.
08-16-2014, 09:04 AM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
K100D --> K-20D --> K5.

First for MPs, then for ISO performance. Sold older items.
08-16-2014, 09:07 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I started with a k100d in 2008 which seemed like the best bang for buck I could find as a beginner... Upgraded to k5 when the price got down to around 800 in 2012 bc it seemed totally worth it.. I will upgrade again either when FF is unveiled (including however long collecting all the cash may take, because I really want FF and have for a long time), or when my k5 dies.

08-16-2014, 09:09 AM   #5
Pentaxian

I only get a new DSLR to replace a broken one.
So far my K7 have not given my any reason to replace it.