Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2014, 10:14 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Best infrared filter for Kx

Hi guys,
I'm still fairly new to photography (but learning!) and have decided to buy new glass and filters rather than upgrade from my Kx straight away.

I have seen some pretty awesome IR shots, but I know a lot were taken with converted cameras. I understand the focusing issues with filters as well as difficulties setting the white balance. My question is would an IR filter be a worthwhile investment for the Kx to avoid converting it, or would the pictures just not turn out well enough to justify? If it is worth it, is the Hoya R72 still the filter of choice? I saw several on ebay of different wavelengths for cheap, but figured they wouldn't be worth the gamble.

Thanks guys! If this is anywhere else in the forum, I apologize, as I couldn't find it.

08-24-2014, 12:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

R72 will be ur safest choise. But expect only B&W to be usable cos only pink color in pics.
08-24-2014, 04:22 AM   #3
Site Supporter

The main problem with using a filter on an unconverted camera IMO is the long exposure time. With the filter in front of the lens and the other in front of the sensor there is pretty little light coming through.

I got a 49mm Hoy R72, which I usually put on one of my wider angle manual lenses, using live view manual focusing isn't much of a problem with a wide angle lens. Unless it's a really bright day and/or you don't mind some noise I recommend a tripod. If you don't have one think about getting one anyway, it's useful not only for IR

I don't rely on automatic exposure with the filter, taking a few pictures and checking them on the camera's LCD you can find the right time pretty fast.