Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-10-2008, 12:36 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Thinking of going to a dual body approach

Hi,
Sorry for the length of this post but wanted to outline my full thinking on this in hopes you could see were I'm coming from and then express your opinion.

I've been shooting with my K10D for 1 1/2 years now and using primes in manual mode 99% of the time. Very seldom, if ever, do I go over ISO 400. The image quality is good enough for me and don't need more resolution.

Now I would like to try some action shooting without spending an arm and a leg. With enough practice it can be done with my K10D and A 35-105 lens but this is a hobby and want to make it as easy as possible and am willing to spend some money to get equipment that will assist me. I've set a budget of $1,800 for this.

The best Pentax has to offer is the K20D and 16-50 lens which is within budget. There is no way I'll buy the 16-50 lens with the possible problems I might run into so that leave the 16-45 that is only available on the used market. It's not SDM nor is it very fast. Cost $1,600.

The Sony option would be an A 300 with the 16-60 lens. The IQ would be close to the K10D at ISO 400 or less and according to reviews the AF is faster than the K20D. It also has a LV that actually works and can be used for fine tuning focus when mounted on a tripod. The Optical viewfinder is crap but how important is that if using AF while shooting action stuff? I think the shutter is silent when shooting in LV which could be a bonus for certain situations. Cost $1,300.

I don't like the feel and size of the Canon 40D so even if it were within budget it is not up for consideration. The Nikon D300 is out of the price range and the only Olympus that has fast FA is the E-1, also out of budget. That leaves the A300 or K20D. Considering that AF speed is the driving force behind this choice I'd say the A300 wins.