Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-02-2014, 09:34 AM   #1

Yet another African Safari question

Okay, I've read and re-read all the related threads to pick out the equipment I need for my first African safari (in 2015). I have a K-5. I finally decided on the DA*55-300 with a HD Pentax DA AF rear converter for the reach (since the Tokina 80-400 is impossible to find) and a nice wide angle for landscapes. Then I read about the Q-S1 today and I think my mind just exploded. Getting a Q would solve the problem of having an extra body (to minimize lens changes in the field) plus give me plenty of reach without having to buy the teleconverter. So my question is, which set up would give me the best odds of the best quality images (in the zoom range specifically)? I'm still a beginner, but as I might not get another opportunity to go on safari again in my lifetime, I want to stack the odds in my favor.

09-02-2014, 09:52 AM   #2

I dont have a Q but here are my thoughts :
Under daylight the quality of shots from the smaller sensor of the Q should work well, as long as you dont have to crop much later. A 300mm on the Q will have a tiny angle of view so you will need fast shutter speeds and a support like a tripod.
It is however always a tradeoff between price, size and quality. The best Quality would probably be achieved by the DA*300 with converter or the DA 560. Just sell your car and go for it
09-02-2014, 10:43 AM   #3

Hello,