Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2014, 10:39 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
KS-1 vs K-3 for Street Photography

After staying in London for a month, and making a huge attempt at being a street photographer, I have come to the conclusion, that out of all DSLR on the market, the Pentax System easily has the best DSLR system for the job. Out of all current SLR manufactures, Pentax is the only system that has nailed four out of the five aspects required (for me), that is, small but relatively fast primes (I'm using the plastic fantastic DA 50mm f1.8), silent operation (screw drive isn't really that loud compared to ambient city noise), excellent low light performance (both AF, which is average speed, but quite accurate, and high ISO noise performance) and durability (sure the 50mm isn't WR, but I've never had any problems in bad weather in the field). The only thing that I think could make Pentax THE BEST choice for street photography, would be if they released a smaller SLR, keeping what makes the K-3 amazing, adding an aperture coupler, and striping anything not essential (potentially SR, battery life, and even duel control wheels).