Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2007, 04:04 PM   #1
Forum Member

super close macro

In the spring I intend to take photos of insects and would love to get really close (such as capturing just the eye of a 3cm insect). I will be using the K10D with either a Pheoenix 100mm macro lens which comes with a 1:1 macro adapter....or a Pentax-A 70-210 macro telephoto zoom. Also a tripod.
I have an extension tube set of three and also a 2x teleconverter.
My question is.. (because I have never done macro before)...with the equiptment I have, will I be able to get what I'm after?
I know that I will need a flash but that will be added later (although I have no idea what I shall need)...that will be a later question which I hope the generous members can help me with.
Any help would be gratefully accepted and will aid me in purchasing additional equiptment if the need arises.

01-29-2007, 04:57 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
Yes you can, I shot the eye of a needle with a 35-70 f4 with macro focus, a full set of tubes, and a 2x converter. The image filled the frame and has good detail. Distance from subject 1/4 inch. Focus is difficult but can be done. I used a lamp rather than a flash because of the short distance.
01-29-2007, 04:58 PM   #3
Veteran Member

what makes u think u can capture just the eye of 3cm insect.. ??

mind u a 3 cm is a big insect so it might not be quite as extreme as it sounds.. your ambitions seem a little high for someone who hasnt done it before.. it might be better to get some lesser macros under your belt then reassess the possibliltes.. especially if u mean a live insect..

trog
01-29-2007, 05:04 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Hmmm.. not sure anything you have is really sufficient. You would probably need to go to 10:1 Macro. Not really possible w/ HIGH quality.
Beautiful Bugs: How to Do Macro Insect Photography
Shutterbug: Macro Photograqphy