Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-13-2008, 04:28 AM   #1

k200d or save

Should I buy a k200d or save the money and buy a k100d so I can buy some more lenses. I am so damn indecisive about these things. Is the k200d really worth the extra money?

I am also wondering about the AF problem. After picking up a Pentax I really like how they feel..would prefer a two wheel option but the k20d is out of my price range so that is neither here or there. Is the AF really that big of a problem or are you guys just so picky about things cause you know a lot about cameras. Like well I not be able to use the AFC feature at all, and when I am inside will I have to do all manual? I am new to photography and I don't know how good I am going to be at manual focusing especially because I have glasses which seems to be a whole nother set of problems.

Anyway let me know your thoughts!

05-13-2008, 05:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The AF is certainly good enough. If you're in good light and using the center point, it's as fast as anyone else's, and in most other cases it's perfectly good enough (and perhaps more accurate than other systems).

My suggestion would be to start with a K100D, used if you can. Buy lenses. And then plan to buy the K300D (or K30D) in a year and a half or so.
05-13-2008, 06:57 AM   #3
axl
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree with mattdm. K100D is good camera, and very good entry to DSLR world. And you'll certainly use some extra glass next to DA18-55.
The only other direction I'd point you, try to have a look if some stores don't have some K10D left. The prices of those were incredibly low lately, and you'd have two dials as you wanted and sensor of K200D (which though I'm not sure is all that good)
05-13-2008, 06:59 AM   #4
Veteran Member

If you can still find one, buy the K10D. It's better on all accounts.

05-13-2008, 08:27 AM   #5
Veteran Member