Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-21-2014, 04:59 PM   #1

K-5ii or K-3?

Hi!

I've had a K10D now for about 7 years now and I certainly think it's time for a change!
My question to you is whether I it i worth the money to invest in a K-3 or if the cheaper K-5 ii/iis will do the trick?
Taking into account that my budget isn't the best since I'm studying at the moment. I'm normally using a Pentax 50mm F1.7 manual or the Tamron Macro 70-200mm F2.8.

Thanx for any help in the matter

10-21-2014, 05:05 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Personally I'd spend the extra $300 for the K-3.

That said I guess I'd recommend you get the K-5IIs. Spend the extra $300 on glass if and when you can.
10-21-2014, 05:08 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Both cameras are a huge upgrade over the K10D. I would say if you've been happy with the performance and capabilities of the K10D, you might not benefit as much from the advancements in the K-3. So the K-5 II might be the way to go. With that said, there are currently some fantastic deals on the K-3:

Pentax K-3 and K-50 Price Dive - Deals and Savings | PentaxForums.com

I'd also recommend that you read our in-depth reviews of both cameras:

Review: Pentax K-3 - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews
Review: Pentax K-5 II / IIs - Introduction | PentaxForums.com Reviews

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
10-21-2014, 05:37 PM   #4

Original Poster
Hi again!

Thank you for some good answers!
I just found this offer from a Buy- and sell-site: