Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-27-2014, 05:12 PM   #1

Pentax K-5IIs?

Im an amateur photographer and I currently own a Pentax K-30 and Ive had almost a year and it is in good working order, but Im wondering if I should jump on the $596 deal on the K-5IIs. So far the 30 has done everything that I could want but there part of me that thinks I should get the k-5 because it would give me more room to expand. Any suggestions on what to do?

10-27-2014, 05:38 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Expand into what?
The K-5 is an older camera. Nicer design and ergonomics I grant, but older.
You have the top LCD and a mag alloy body, but the same sensor. What else are you missing that you think the K-5IIs will give you?
10-27-2014, 05:45 PM   #3

I'm not thinking of upgrading from my K-50 but I always wondered if there is a substantial difference between K-50 and K-5.

I wear glasses and it's a bit harder to see the lower part of the viewfinder so the external LCD with shooting info of the K-5 would be something useful for me.

Apart from that, any significant differences?
10-27-2014, 05:46 PM   #4

Original Poster
The K-5IIs has an external mic jack, lower noise at higher iso, and has the ability for a battery grip and is just a higher tier camera.

10-27-2014, 05:53 PM   #5

But if they have the same sensor, how can the ISO performance be different?
10-27-2014, 05:56 PM   #6
Pentaxian

I don't have a K-30 but I do have the K-50. Noise is very good at high ISO. Are you sure and older camera has better NR?
It's true you can add and external mic and a battery grip, but these don't improve your photography.

Last edited by Steve.Ledger; 10-27-2014 at 07:13 PM.
10-27-2014, 05:56 PM   #7

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by misomosi Quote
But if they have the same sensor, how can the ISO performance be different?