Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-19-2008, 08:28 PM   #1

I need help!

Greetings,

I'm new to this forum, and this will probably seem really, really basic...but I'm new to digital photography. I also skipped a couple generations of camera gear. My K100D is my first camera with AE and AF. I am really a film guy. However, I've got a big deal coming up in a couple weeks...in China. I've been drafted as the guy to document the trip. I don't travel out of the country much, but the last time my rolls of film caused problems. So...I figured I'd get a K100D on close-out, and ease into the 21st Century. I did not anticipate my roll in this China thing...and I'm not ready!

So here I am. I'll be taking a lot of group shots, this is a family reunion sort of thing. I have two kids in college, so the kit lens will be it - 18-55mm F3.5-5.6. I anticipate lots of shots of the cities, group activities, and perhaps some landscapes. In spite of the fact this is a wide-angle zoom, I've had problems with DOF. Now that I wear bifocals, I sort of like AF...but I'd like to have more control over it, and still get decent exposures...er, captures. I can get one...or the other; not both. So far, the best piece of information I've gotten out of the manual is p. 179; resetting to factory defaults.

I'd like to keep this as simple as possible. I've discovered with the K100...I can get complicated very, very fast. Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thank you!

05-19-2008, 10:04 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
OFG

Not sure exactly what your problem is? focussing or exposure?

If you are familiar with film cameras then this is nothing different. The principles of photogrpahy have not changed simply because there is a sensor capturing the image and not film.

If you are having exposure problems try centre weighted or spot metering. I use spot focusing as well.