Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-20-2014, 12:50 AM   #1

K3 vs K5-IIs - Action shots

Sorry for yet another K3 vs K5 thread, but haven't seen much of a clear answer for what I need. Mainly looking to find which is better to use to photographing racing (which is ironic since the review article dont recommend these for sports)

I've been shooting with a K-M since 2009 and a K-X since 2010, mainly action shots. I go to several automotive races annually, and shoot an easy 1500+ images a trip(JPEG), still shooting with both cameras. Occasionally go to airshows, or soccer games. These cameras have certain been used a lot, and Ive really enjoyed shooting with them, but they're starting to show their wear. Now im in a position to upgrade to another camera and am considering either the K3 and the K5-IIs. Ive read the article reviews as well as user reviews on the forums, and haven't been able to decide which would be a better choice for the type of shooting I deal with. Whichever I choose, I'll be shooting with the same kit lenses Ive been using with the K-M and K-X. Im not looking so much into the video aspects of both cameras, but im mainly concerned about which would better suit my lenses and motion shots, usually under 200 shutter speed. Will also be shooting in low light conditions, and I dont do much post shooting processing (little bit through Picasa). Im kinda leaning towards the K-3