Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-22-2008, 02:28 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Wheatfield is quite right with his observation, that at least Canon and Nikon have a faster AF system. I don't think, there is any point negating that. Nevertheless the Pentax SAFOX has been massively improved with the release of the K10 and I am under the expression (having just made around 5000 exposures with my K20, now), that AF-C has been improved in the K20 again. Despite sticking to their SAFOX XIII designations, Pentax admittedly did some tweaks to the AF software, which is probably the reason for the slght, but IMHO noticeable, improvement.

I have been using Pentax cameras for nearly 30 years now and am very satisfied. So I accept the slow AF and I still acept the slow firing sequence. Hopefully the upcoming K3 (or whatever) will improve on that. I simply love the handling and the lenses (well, not al of them) and think there are good reasons to work with Pentax, despite some shortcomings. And from what I read, this is exactly how Wheatfield feels - so no point for misunderstandings.

Ben

05-22-2008, 02:40 AM   #17

QuoteOriginally posted by Wheatfield Quote
If you want auto focus that actually works, buy a Canon.
* did the original poster complained that his AF does not work ? No. So WHY is this note in this thread at all please ?
* it sounds like you want to imply that Pentax AF actually does not work ? Of course nonsense.
* perhaps you wanted to say "if you want faster auto focus...", but speed was not discussed problem either. You should start new thread.
* you did not say which models are you talking about, or do you think ALL Canons are faster that all Pentaxes ? (I am new to dslr, but my previous film Pentax camera had faster AF that contemporaty Canon in the same price level)

Last edited by ivanp; 05-22-2008 at 02:45 AM.
05-22-2008, 05:27 AM   #18
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums