Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-01-2007, 09:03 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The "Oh Yeah!" moment

In my youth I was a professional musician. Every once in a while I would absolutely nail a break, putting out some really tastey chops. There was a feeling I would get, even before audience or fellow band member reaction, that was and almost indescrible "Oh Yeah!". The feeling was almost gut level. Every time I got it, and it unfortunately didn't happen often enough, I knew that what I had just played was special. The reaction I would get would reinforce that.
So fast forward about 30 years, and I'm starting to find that I'm very occasionally getting the same feeling when I hit the shutter. When I get back to my computer, and open that particular photo, I invariably find that I have indeed, "nailed it". Unfortunately, it's waaaaayyyyy less often than I would like, considerably less often than when I was a professional musician. Hopefully, as my skill level increases I'll get the feeling more and more. My question to all of you is, have you ever felt the same? When you clicked the shutter you just KNEW it was going to be a great shot? To those pros out there, do you feel it more often now that you shoot for a living?

NaCl(just wondering if I'm alone in this)H2O

02-01-2007, 09:08 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by NaClH2O Quote
My question to all of you is, have you ever felt the same? When you clicked the shutter you just KNEW it was going to be a great shot?

I never have that feeling. I think it's partly that I don't yet have enough confidence in my skills to know that I've gotten everything right in the camera. More than once, something that looked very promising on the LCD in review mode, turned out to be out of focus.

Glad you get that feeling. Maybe I'll get it eventually.

Will
02-01-2007, 09:17 AM   #3
Veteran Member