Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-24-2008, 12:40 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Primes: IQ Rankings

I would like to know more about the Pentax world of older lenses, since I am new to it and look to build around the K20. It is clear there are many seasoned Pentaxians here, ones who must hold a wealth of knowledge in this category in the forefront of their minds.

My question is this: Of the faster 50mm primes in Pentax’s history, specifically the f 1.4s & f 1.7s, would any of you care to rank them with respect to IQ only. I recently read that, even within the screw mounts, the 1.4s are not treated equally. Thanks, in advance, for any contributions to the discussion.

Ernest

05-24-2008, 01:33 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
My 50mm rank.

I don't have all of the 50mm primes but I have about 6 of them:

Here is my rank (based on subjective opinion):
1&2. F 50mm/1.4 or FA 50mm/2.8 Macro -- sorry can't decide which one is better. Both has different purpose in my opinion.
3. FA 50mm/1.4 -- somehow, for my copy the FA 50/1.4's exposure is 1/3 stop lower compared to my F50/1.4 with the same setting. Maybe that's why some reviewer said that F50/1.4 is better optically.
4. A 50mm/1.7
5. M 50mm/2 (I have 2 of this lens)
05-24-2008, 01:41 PM   #3
Veteran Member

For some perspective:
sm-02-09-22
My Favorite Lens

My experience tends to agree with Mike Johnson's.

The 43 Ltd is in a different league from the Takumars and just about any other 50mm lens.

The Takumar 55/1.8 is probably the most even in its performance, very excellent. I've had two, an Auto I still have, and a S-M-C.
The Takumar 50/1.4 has some magic, and have a bit of a change in character wide open. I have two - a Super and a SMC.

In general, especially with older lenses (we all age a bit differently, no?) I feel there's probably a greater sample variation than model ranking, at least within a family of lenses.