Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-26-2008, 12:35 AM   #16
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Airmide Quote
I'm a total newbie to anything above a point and shoot. Would it probably be best to buy the kit or body plus lenses separately? Is there anything else I'm going to find I can't live without and should get now? Thanks for any help you can provide!

Hello and welcome to the friendliest photography forum on the Internet.

Since this is your first digital SLR, your best bet would be to go with the body + kit lens option. You can then build a system after saving up a little $$$.

If you want a better quality lens from the get-go (mind you, the kit lens is nothing to sneeze at), you could buy the body and the smc PENTAX DA 16-45 f/4.

Also, never rule out the possibility of getting lenses from a third-party manufacturer, such as Sigma or Tamron.

Buy some eneloops and a charger. You won't regret it.

05-26-2008, 12:48 AM   #17
Inactive Account

Wow Ftpaddict thank you so much for your help!! I think that sounds like great advice. I think I'll get the kit lens to start with since it seems very economical and will give me something to start with. Then when I learn more about lenses I'm sure I'll find more than I could ever afford lol.

One thing I'm sure not complaining about is saving at least $200 off the best price I found anywhere on the canon XSI ($752 YMMV at BestBuy through tomorrow, check slickdeals for more info if anyone is interested or knows anyone who would be). I am feeling like the Pentax k200d is every bit as good as the xsi and better in several areas.