Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-25-2008, 08:20 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Is this something ISO 100 + K200D can help with?

I have a K100D and a black and white dog. I take a lot of pictures of him.

However, when the light is pretty bright outdoors, the white gets kind of blown out sometimes.

Is there something I can do about this by changing my settings? Are there any upgrades to the K200D that would help with this issue, such as it's ability to do ISO100?

Here is an example:

Taken with the K100D and FA 50mm 1.4. No post-processing except for resizing... I think the EXIF data should be there too...

I hope this is the right forum for this question...

Thanks for any potential help or advice you guys can give me.

05-25-2008, 08:35 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
well im no pro at this, and anyone is welcome to correct me if im wrong but the problem you have is that the black/white fur is too much for the camera (or any camera) to handle. The k100d decided that to get the black fur detail, it needs to expose at your current settings, thereby blowing out the whites. If you want the detail in the white fur, the black will be so dark, you wont see any detail at all. The only solution i see is that you take 2 fast shots at different exposure times (one to capture white detail, one to capture black) and photoshop them together. if you can get your dog to stay still long enough that is. Sorta like HDR photography.

Another example of this problem would be a shadow on a bright day. Do you want the detail hiding in the shadow, or do you want the detail in the bright blue sky? you cant get both.
05-25-2008, 08:35 AM   #3
Veteran Member

you have a beautiful dog btw. Cockerspaniel? I have 3
05-25-2008, 08:52 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

It appears that the camera metered off the black, which will cause the whites to be blown out.