Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2008, 06:58 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
k10d and k200d...i know i know, but please read

I know I know this has been asked hundreds of times but this is a specific question.

I have the opportunity to buy a brand new K10d on clearance from a local store for 639 without a kit lens. I also have the opportunity to buy the k200d for 588 or so on that amazon and rebate deal WITH the kit lens.

I am a total newb to SLRS and this will be my first.

Should I go for the k10d or the k200d? I like the viewfinder of the k10d a lot better...but i don't know how much I will miss the portait,sports,etc, modes in the k10d.

Thanks!

05-28-2008, 07:11 AM   #2
Veteran Member

I would get the K200D. It is newer camera and comes with kit lens which is pretty good. This setup will get you started with photography in no time. K10D is very good camera but if you think you will need the scene modes, then you are better off with K200D. There is always option to upgrade later, but I doubt you will outgrow K200D soon as it still has manual, program, Av, Tv modes and better JPEG at high ISO.
05-28-2008, 07:11 AM   #3
Veteran Member

I think only you are going to be able to answer questions such as these. I am a total newb but I have never even used those scene modes. Having an extra dial on the body would be pretty valuable to me as well. That said, the K200D is arguably better at low-light/high ISO. I would probably go for the K10 personally speaking, but my needs and desires are probably different than yours. You can't go wrong either way.
05-28-2008, 07:19 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I'd go for the K10D for the pentaprism and extra dial, illuminated LCD and better grip. (despite having small hands, I think the chunky grip of the K10D is a lot better)

05-28-2008, 07:33 AM   #5
Veteran Member