Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 17 Likes Search this Thread
01-23-2015, 07:45 AM - 15 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Pentax K2000 breakdown to sensor level

Hello all,
I have no idea if this will interest anyone but one of my older DSLRs, The K2000 recently gave up the ghost. Rather than sell for parts on Ebay, I decided to take it apart. Mostly out of curiosity to see if I could understand it better, maybe figure out a few things. Particularly of interest was the sensor and IR filter, as I am interested in converting another camera to IR.

Preface here... I am not a camera tech, I'm just a hobbyist photographer that enjoys DIY projects. Take what I say and post here with a grain of salt, and feel free to comment, or correct anything.

Getting to the good stuff now...

One thing about electronics is they don't need to be plugged in to give you one heck of a shock. Even without batteries, cameras like this have one huge capacitor that stores electricity. I have read on the DIY sites that if you depress the camera shutter button several times it will discharge the capacitor. Not wanting to get knocked on my butt or worse, I discharged it with an insulated screw driver by touching both terminals in case the DIY sites were wrong. Guess the capacitor didn't read the DIY sites, because that thing made a snap crackle and pop like you wouldn't believe. I've no idea how much juice it stored, but its the size of a AA battery!

I ran into my first technical glitch at this time. I wanted to get to the image capture sensor.,.. but Pentax has it sandwiched between metal plates, that have tiny hex heads, and my particular version was cemented/glued in place as well. Whats a guy to do when he really doesn't have the right tool or alot of time, and isnt planning on reassembling? Have Dril will travel!