Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2015, 12:37 PM   #1
Forum Member

Have a K-01. Considering picking up a gh2. Good idea?

Title covers it. I'm a photographer by trade, always a user of Pentax. When helping other companies (photo/video), I've used their Nikons/Canons... all nice cameras, just not preferable over my Pentax'es. Anywho, I've been getting some video gigs here n' there, and I'd like to use my Pentax glass (and would prefer using their body), but no matter what I try, I just can't get the desired look from my k-01 or k5iis. Too blotchy (moire/buzzwords/etc), weird sharpening, etc. The k7 looks suprisingly a little better, but... you know.

Gh2's sound like the answer. Can continue using my glass, just with a loss of width (I can handle). Super cheap these days. Just lower build quality. Does anyone have much experience with them? Hacked/unhacked, is the video a vast enough improvement over the k-01?

02-10-2015, 01:11 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by dflorez Quote
Title covers it. I'm a photographer by trade, always a user of Pentax. When helping other companies (photo/video), I've used their Nikons/Canons... all nice cameras, just not preferable over my Pentax'es. Anywho, I've been getting some video gigs here n' there, and I'd like to use my Pentax glass (and would prefer using their body), but no matter what I try, I just can't get the desired look from my k-01 or k5iis. Too blotchy (moire/buzzwords/etc), weird sharpening, etc. The k7 looks suprisingly a little better, but... you know.

Gh2's sound like the answer. Can continue using my glass, just with a loss of width (I can handle). Super cheap these days. Just lower build quality. Does anyone have much experience with them? Hacked/unhacked, is the video a vast enough improvement over the k-01?
Edit: sorry, I just noticed that you were talking about video.