Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-03-2007, 03:14 PM   #1
Forum Member

K100D - "Low-Battery" Problem

Hi All,

I've been using the K100D for a few months now with Sanyo 2100 mAh and Tenergy 2300 mAh NiMH rechargeable batteries. I used to get over 400 shots (with mixed flash usage) in a single day shoot, or about 250 shots over a couple of weeks before the battery icons went to empty. Overall I was pretty satisfied with the battery performance.

But since the last couple of weeks, the "low-battery" warning started popping-up frequently. Even when I thought that the batteries were good. So when it happened again a few days back, I decided to test it out.

First, I took out the batteries and tested their voltage - all four measured 1.31V, meaning they still had quite a bit of charge left in them. But to be sure I recharged them again (I use LaCrosse BC-900 chargers) with a 200mA slow charge to ensure that they are properly topped up overnight.

Then I put in the freshly charged batteries in the K100D (battery icon shows full) and shot about 25 pics around the house. Then left the camera in the closet over night.

The next day I took it out it still showed full charge. I took a couple of test shots and the battery icon fell to a half-charge. Took them out and tested the voltage - 1.33V. Put them back in and left the camera in the closet.

In the evening the same day, I turned on the camera again, The camera didn't turn on and got the blinking empty battery icon. Tried off and on a few times and suddenly the battery icon shows a FULL battery and the camera starts working normally. Took a dozen or so pics with flash and the battery icon still shows FULL. So I turn off the camera for a few mins and turn it back on now the battery indicator is half-full.