Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-07-2008, 05:11 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
TC advice

I have read many of the TC threads but I would really like to know if there is a TC that works well with all lenses - Sigma, Tamron AND Pentax?

I have a 2x Sigma that is limited only to certain lenses in the Sigma range and certainly won't work with other brands. It has been illustrated in other threads that the limitation is the fact that the front element of the TC protrudes to the extent that it will interfere with the rear element of most lenses.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate the advice.

06-07-2008, 07:04 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Well, I'm no expert so all I can do is share my experience so far. I have the Kenko 1.5x MC and it works/fits just fine with all of my lenses (Pentax, Tamron & Sigma). The one thing I'm not thrilled with it is that it "feels" kind of cheap. The machine work on the front/rear mounts just seems rough. Putting it on is akin to fingernails on a chalkboard - however I have seen absolutely no evidence of any marring or scuffing at all; it just sounds/feels horrible.
It would appear to actually be pretty solidly built as I watched in horror several weeks ago as it tumbled 3ft to the floor after slipping out of my hands in a careless moment. Made a resounding thunk on the hardwood floor yet remained fully intact.

I'm on the hunt now though for the elusive Tamron 2x MC7. I've heard hearsay that the Kenko 2x MC7 has the same optics but as yet don't have any confirmation of that.
06-07-2008, 07:17 AM   #3
Pentaxian