Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-04-2007, 04:22 AM   #1

Pentax RAW (PEF) and IPTC

Do the Pentax RAW files support IPTC data?

Seems the Pentax software isn't supporting IPTC. If this is correct other programs that do would be using unofficial routines, or am I missing something?

I've a K100D

02-04-2007, 04:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I'm not an expert, but I believe, the IPTC data is not part of the RAW file itself. but is stored in an XMP sidecar file that is created by whatever editor you are using. At least that is what Adobe does.

So to more directly answer your question, if I am correct, It is more a failing of the the Pentax Software rather than the PEF file.
02-04-2007, 09:26 AM   #3
baw

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by roscot Quote
I'm not an expert, but I believe, the IPTC data is not part of the RAW file itself. but is stored in an XMP sidecar file that is created by whatever editor you are using.
Afaik IPTC (and EXIF) are embedded in the image by definition. XMP just summarises IPTC, EXIF and some other info. The XMP data can either be embedded in the file and/or written into a sidecar file.

When buying the K100D I took RAW IPTC support for granted, given that Pentax also aims at professional photographers. So far it seems I was wrong.....
02-04-2007, 07:05 PM - 1 Like   #4
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by baw Quote
Do the Pentax RAW files support IPTC data?

Seems the Pentax software isn't supporting IPTC. If this is correct other programs that do would be using unofficial routines, or am I missing something?

I've a K100D
The Pentax software does not support IPTC, but the image file does. You have to use a program that applies IPTC, which Pentax Browser does not. I add it in Bridge with no problem.

02-05-2007, 05:41 AM   #5
baw

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by davemdsn Quote