Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-23-2015, 12:50 AM   #1

K3 v K3ii v Ks-2

I'm new to the forum and I apologise if this is in the wrong place and has been asked many times before.

I currently shoot a k30 and a k50 and am looking to upgrade. I am a part time professional, shooting studio, on location and moving into weddings. I am really unsure as to how to progress. I don't require the astrotracing feature of the K3ii or gps so I am thinking I can leave out the K3ii but I'm not sure about buying a model that is so old....

My local business owner is trying to steer me towards the Ks-2 but I'm not sure this is a big enough upgrade to be worth its while....

What do you all think?

05-23-2015, 04:15 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
With the introduction of K3II, the K3 should further drop its price. Unless you really want a "flip" screen, I think that the K3 is the better camera over all.

By the way, welcome!
05-23-2015, 05:04 AM   #3
Veteran Member

My money would go to the K3ii because of the addition stop in shake reduction. 4.5 vs 3.5 for the K3,
05-23-2015, 05:11 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
A big welcome to the forum.

I think the thing about the K10 through to the K3 is that they are great professional bodies. I would choose a K3 over a Ks-2 as you have more controls at your finger tips on the K3. I hate picking up Nikons and Canons because the things I need are hidden away and you need to look at a manual first. The K3 and older bodies are fantastic for taking full control of the camera.

The only reason for you to buy a K3ii is if you see the need to pan to take some of your photos or you see yourself taking a lot of low light photos.I would go slower speed rather than higher ISO in your situation.