Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-12-2008, 03:16 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
k10d and some lens..broke down

So I have had a k10d and the kit lens. I am in New York today and will be leaving for a good six months to somewhere will I probably won't have much access to camera equipment.

Today I bought a Pentax 18-250mm and a FA 50mm 1.4

Is this a good setup for a beginner? I did I splurge too much..I came into this camera thing looking for a cheap way but have ended up sending a good 580+460+200=a lot of money.

Second of all...My camera still seems to underexpose everything. I know it is still probably me but could it be the camera?

Now I am thinking about buying a mac before i leave too..heh..

Thanks.

06-12-2008, 03:19 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Original Poster
forgot to mention i had returned the kit lens.
06-12-2008, 05:13 PM   #3
Veteran Member

That's a very good setup for a beginner. I'm a beginner as well and made the mistake of getting too many lens early on. Now I'm figuring out which ones I really use. At any rate from what I have read the 18-250mm is a good lens, on par with the kit lens (which is to say a very solid lens in the whole lens universe). I own the FA 50mm 1.4 and have found it to be excellent, especially for the money. So, I'd recommend that you play around with the setup that you have and get a feel for what you want to shoot and get some skill with the camera settings. With some practice you might find that you need a wider lens or something faster in a different focal length and the experience will allow you to make a better judgment about what which lens is best for your needs.