Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
08-02-2015, 03:22 PM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Peak Design Capture Pro Dropped My K-3 Today

Hi all.

Just a word of caution for those using the Peak Design Capture Pro. I've been using this product quite happily for about 7 months now - it was a birthday gift from my wife. However, today, while we were walking along a trail in one of Montreal's nature parks, the Capture Pro just unclipped itself somehow. The clip was high on a backpack strap. Note that the clip itself stayed on the strap, and the attachment plate stayed on the camera, but for some unknown reason the two came suddenly apart while I was walking. The camera crashed heavily onto the gravel. :-(

I have no idea how this could have happened. The clip's design appears foolproof. When I'd clipped it in five or so minutes earlier, it had made it's normal "click" sound. It's not like we were mountain biking or mountaineering or even running. This was a flat pedestrian trail on which we were taking a leisurely walk.

The lens that was on the camera (Vivitar Series 1 105mm F/2.5 Macro) _seems_ miraculously unharmed except for some minor scratches on the built-in hood. (I tested it on my K-01.) But the camera... The lens mount on the K-3 body itself has been partially ripped out. I assume Peak Design will disclaim any and all responsibility. I hope the damage to the K-3 is repairable (for less than the cost of a brand new camera)...

08-02-2015, 03:34 PM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Doundounba Quote
I have no idea how this could have happened.
Bad luck indeed, but not sure it's fair to diss' a product without fully knowing what actually happened. They would certainly test such a product in most rigorous ways before releasing it for sale. If you think it's a failure of the product, you'd probably have to return it to them for inspection.
08-02-2015, 03:57 PM - 4 Likes   #3