Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
08-11-2015, 11:06 PM   #1

New to DSLR: Camera recommendations (KS1 or K50)

I am new to DSLR and I've been inspired by photos like these (Florabella Collection Photoshop Actions - Florabella Photoshop Actions). I would be most interested in using the camera to take portrait photos of children. I don't see myself as the type to take a bunch of photos of landscapes or scenery-- they just do not interest me as much. I thought about getting a smaller m4/3 or mirrorless but I thought DSLR would give me the best bokeh.

I don't need the best of the best photo equipment, just something that will give me sharp photos with good color and bokeh. My pictures will be more skill-limited than camera-limited. I know there's a lot to learn and I don't expect to get amazing photos overnight after purchasing DSLR. I also realize there's Photoshop involved to get the photos like those referenced above. I will mostly shoot in more well-lit and controlled environments so low-lighting is less of an issue. I like Pentax because of the price for what you get. There are some nice deals on KS1 and K50 right now-- I was pretty set on getting KS1 for its smaller body size and also I don't need WR-- I live in California and we don't get snow or rain or anything like that :-P But I also hear the K50 has better controls? Which camera is more intuitive and easier to handle?

I want to spend as little as possible to get the job done. I imagine I will also pick up a 50mm F1.8 prime in addition to kit lens. Like I said, I don't anticipate taking photos everywhere I go, but I do want nice photos of the kids as they're growing up and changing so quickly.

---------- Post added 08-11-15 at 11:28 PM ----------