Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 29 Likes Search this Thread
11-09-2015, 10:05 AM   #136

QuoteOriginally posted by MJSfoto1956 Quote
Honestly, it really doesn't take that much. My "rugged" Nikkor 24-70mm had a minor fall while packed in a backpack and I had to send it in for repair. $350 later it came back good as new. The difference is less in the ruggedness in their lenses than their repair system is not in the same league as CaNikon's. If you are going to compare them to something like prime Leica lenses then the problem may be in your expectations: $1000 lens vs. $5000 lens!!!

Michael
Sorry, nothing wrong with my expectations. I've been using cameras for 40 years. I know damage can occur with any fall, but seriously? Beyond Economic Repair for this fall is Beyond Belief. If this lens model can't take a fall like it did, no way could I trust it for the type of professional use I once did. I shouldn't have to pamper a lens in order to trust using it in day to day life.

I'm just extremely frustrated at the moment. The difference with your repair vs mine is yours was fixed. Mine, according to Precision, is Beyond Economic Repair. How frustrated would you have been had yours come back BER?

To me, it is unbelievable given the fall and supposed build quality of this lens, that it can't be repaired.

11-09-2015, 10:13 AM   #137
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jeffryscott Quote
Well, my 60-250 repair is a failure. Beyond Economic Repair. This for an $800 dollar lens I barely used and that fell maybe two feet, probably less than 18-inches. How can such a "rugged" lens fail so catastrophically? There isn't an external mark on it.