Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-01-2015, 01:27 PM   #1

ks2 vs k50 - Dad has fat fingers - m42 lenses

Hello All and Sundry,

My Dad's 60th is coming up, and I am in cahoots with my Mum to buy him a camera. He has been hovering around the camera shops, and has indicated he wants a 'real' camera. However, he will be a complete novice to this arena (but has obviously used compacts, etc, in the past). He is not flush with money.

Now, first question, am I being overly loyal in recommending Pentax? I am looking at k50, ks2, (and hoping ks3 magically drops price in two days), but I see at that price range we have other manufacturer options, such as the Canon 760D. Sometimes I do wonder myself whether I made the right choice to get my Pentax Kx, but it has served me well the past four years, and there's is something magical about sticking those m42 lenses on (Carl Zeiss Pancolor my current fave - 20). However, for someone new to the system (no lenses), is Pentax still the best way forward? Full frame around the corner, but will those vintage lenses still perform on the FF bodies?

So, presuming the vintage lenses will perform on FF bodies, then it seems to me that Pentax makes a sound future investment, as my Dad can avoid all the APSC modern lenses, and stick to the old 35mm ones for now (and potentially lot of new FF will also release).

So, at this stage, I'm looking at the Pentax current line up, and I'm leaning KS2. The KS3 (in uk at least), is beyond our budget of 500, and so I have been looking at KS1, K50, and KS2. I would have gone for the k50, but it seems that there are large problems with a lot of the manual lenses (K+M42), and this kind of defeats the purpose of going Pentax I think.