Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-22-2008, 09:48 AM   #1
Forum Member

I need help with settings in studio

I recently did some maternity shots of a friend of mine in my in home studio. I have a soft box and an umbrella (which actually belong to another friend of mine, she has nowhere to go with them, lucky me!). My on camera, 540 flash, fires the umbrella and soft box lights. I was shooting in shutter priority mode and my flash was set to P-TTL (which I'm not really sure what that means). I'm new at the studio thing and had a lot of trouble getting my flash to fire consistently. We had to keep waiting for it to re-charge. Also, even though there was plenty of light in the room (I turned lights to full pwer and on camera flash up to +1) I still had to set the ISO at 800 to get it to where the shutter speed wasn't unbelievably slow... and it was still slow anyway. I think the highest shutter speed I got was 1/15 sec! I thought I was shooting in Manual, but I was just browsing through my settings and noticed I was set in Shutter priority mode. I can't recall, but I'm guessing I did that bc manual or Aperature priority resulted in even slower shutter speeds.

I have a K10D (got in Nov.) and one thing I have noticed is that compared to Canon (had an XT Rebel before) the higher the iso the noiser and noiser the images get. 800 or 1000 in my opinion are really bad!

Please help me figure out what I did wrong. I would have loved to get more candid shot of her with a faster shutter speed and no waiting on the flash to re-charge. I just can't figure out what I did wrong. I really want to do some shot of my newborn neice soon, but I want to make sure that doesn't happen again first. Thank you for your help!!!!

06-22-2008, 10:27 AM   #2
Veteran Member