Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-25-2008, 04:55 PM   #1

Strange Haloing... Help me solve.

I'm somewhat new to photography, but have found that in a few cases with my K10D that there's haloing around high-contrast edges.

What I'd like to know is:

How do I avoid this when I shoot the original photo? (or minimize it)

Are there any commonly used techniques to correct this in post?

Note attached image is slightly color corrected, and rotated to increase size. This is a 1:1 snapshot of a photo.

I've also shown two of the channels where it occurs the worst. Notice in both the Red and Blue channel there is a bright halo that extends from the outer edges of the ring inward. The Blue channel also has a very hard edge, which I thought was strange.

It's also slightly green on the bottom, and slightly red on the top. (remember the attachment is rotated). It even occurs in relatively lower contrast areas, which you can see in the edge of the far right ring.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

.:: Epoch

Attached Images

06-25-2008, 05:05 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Turn down your sharpening!!!!
It looks like you might have a little bit of chromatic abberation going on as well, but sometimes oversharpenning will give weird artifacts.
06-25-2008, 05:19 PM   #3

Original Poster
No sharpening was on in the camera.

That's one of the first things I turned off when I got the K10. It was also shot in RAW (DNG) and no color correction routines applied. Basically every setting that assures what gets stuffed onto the SD Card is unaltered. (I prefer to leave it to Photoshop than the camera)

I just double checked, and ACR had sharpening "To all photos" on, which made a very slight difference in the hard edge on the Blue channel. Glad that's caught and out of the way now.
06-25-2008, 05:28 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums