Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2008, 09:26 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Low Light photography

My main problem with DSLR's in general has been night or low light photography. With AF the camera keeps hunting or just shuts down. Would MF help this? Would a Katzeye help the focusing? Any thoughts?

06-27-2008, 09:32 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
yes MF will help, or pop up your on board flash also will help, but u want to focus fast in low light? MF is the way to go.

Also get yourself fast lens will help greatly. Any lens with smaller aparture with f2.8 will give u a hard time at night..
06-27-2008, 09:35 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Even though I am new to low light photography as well I will go out on a limb and say that MF would be the best way to go. The fastest AF lens I have is the kit lens and it could not lock focus by itself because of the low light levels. There simply wasn't enough contrast for the sensor to lock onto in most cases. In any case I gave up using the kit lens and used my A50 1:2 lens and manually focused. Since I am new to this as well I didn't have many keepers but at least I was able to take some pictures.
06-27-2008, 09:53 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Not to stir the pot, but my Canon 40D fitted with either my Canon 85mm f/1.8 or Sigma 30mm f/1.4 had no problems locking focus (using the extra sensitive center AF point) in a dimly lit room. As to how dim it was (going by memory here), I was at f/1.4-1.8, ISO3200 and getting ~1/30s.

So I wouldn't say it's a problem with "DSLR's in general"

06-27-2008, 09:57 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by egordon99 Quote