Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 8 Likes Search this Thread
12-07-2015, 01:54 PM - 1 Like   #1
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Flu-card better than expected...

So, I picked up a Flu-card over the Black Friday / Cyber Monday weekend, for about half the usual price (maybe a tiny bit more than half)... I've been wanting to try one with my K3 for a while, as I wanted some form of basic tethering. I should say, I have no previous experience of tethered operation, wired or wi-fi. Now, I'd read some quite indifferent, even negative, reviews of the Flu-card, so my expectations were set accordingly. At the price I paid, I figured I could try it out and - if it wasn't to my liking - I could flip it at no loss (maybe even a profit ) on eBay.

Well, I've played with it a little and I'll be honest, so far, I'm quite impressed. I'm using it with my PC running Chrome as the browser. Connection was easy and - for me, at least - seems to be reliable, although the reported signal strength from the card at my PC isn't all that great. Still, with the camera around 10 feet from the PC, it shows a medium-to-good signal, and maintains the connection without any problems. Loading a full size / quality review image is a little leisurely, for sure, but not painful by any means, and the user interface - while very basic - seems quite well thought out.

If I was a pro studio photographer (or if I'd had experience of other wired tethering solutions for other brands), I'm sure I'd find the limitations of the product more of an issue, but frankly, it seems pretty good to me. Definitely a keeper.

I'm mentioning this in case others who are contemplating the card are put off by what they read elsewhere... I'd say, give it a try.

12-07-2015, 03:05 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

yeah, lots of complaints out there but it works for me.

Michael
12-07-2015, 03:23 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan