Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2015, 07:57 AM   #1

K3 vs K3ii for Astrophotography

I've been shooting m4/3 for personal photography for a few years now, as an injury and schedule forced me out of doing weddings and events as I used to do so I moved away from a Nikon FX kit.

I'm ready to pick up a dslr to complement my current kit. I love my Em-1 setup, mostly, but it definitely doesn't have the same ergonomics as a dslr. I've narrowed my choices down to Nikon or Pentax.

I've been becoming more interested in wide-field astrophotography as of late. I'm aware of most of the differences between the k3 and k3ii, except for their use in astrophotography. Which leads to my question:

Is there any benefit to the k3ii over the k3 for Astrophotography use, beyond having the OGPS-1 built in? Any added functionality or improvement at all? (The price difference between the two at this time is roughly the cost of the OGPS-1, so I could get the k3 and have use of the built in flash for macro fill and add the GPS unit.)

12-08-2015, 09:12 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Shepx13 Quote
Is there any benefit to the k3ii over the k3 for Astrophotography use, beyond having the OGPS-1 built in?
Not really, it does have pixel shift for non-astrophotography you can use that for still macro. (I see you mention macro)
12-08-2015, 09:26 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not for the Astrophotography, no. For my work, field macro, the K3II makes sense since it would be easy to mount a flash and have the GPS active. If you don't need GPS information tagged to your photos then the internal GPS is just more "stuff" in the body.
12-08-2015, 10:26 AM   #4
Pentaxian