Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-26-2015, 06:36 PM - 1 Like   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What's the big deal about "Weather Resistance"?

I've been an outdoors photographer for many decades.

Up until a year ago, I never had a weather resistant camera body or lens.

While I've never been one to shoot during a downpour, I none-the-less have not been shy about shooting in mist, light rain, and snow.

I never have put any type of protection over my cameras, yet in all of my years of outdoor shooting, I've never had any problems with water getting into my cameras or lens. Certainly have never
had any damage to my camera equipment due to inclimate weather.

While I now have WR Pentax gear, it's not a feature that's a big deal to me.

Might someone else who also shoots extensively in the out-of-doors enlighten me as to what's the big deal about weather resistant lenses and cameras?

12-26-2015, 06:42 PM   #2

Ive also used non resistant gear in damp conditions. I think it would be handy for sports shooters where the game isnt cancelled by rain. If its raining out i go inside.
12-26-2015, 06:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Peace of mind?
12-26-2015, 06:54 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery

12-26-2015, 07:55 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Fenwoodian Quote
Up until a year ago, I never had a weather resistant camera body or lens
Do they call you "LUCKY" ?
12-26-2015, 08:10 PM   #6
Pentaxian

They should...
Even "pro" weather sealled gear find it's limits if really used in challenging conditions.
12-26-2015, 09:38 PM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I, too, have shot in light rain and snow with non-WR equipment. Of course they are protected when not actually engaged in taking the shot, so spend only a short period of time exposed.

12-26-2015, 09:53 PM - 1 Like   #8
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums