Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2016, 08:26 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
k30 raws vs k5iis raws

I had the k30 and I liked the images. The camera developed a fault so i upgraded to the K5iis which i have been using for a few years. When I first imported the K5iis raws into lightroom I noticed that the images did not have as much pop compared to k30 raws imported at the same settings. Has anybody else noticed this? Could anyone explain why this could be because shouldn't the raw output from both cameras be almost identical. Also what adjustments can I make to the k5iis images to get similar results?

01-13-2016, 08:31 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Were you using an import preset? I believe the import presets can be set to be specific to cameras. That means it is possible your k-30 was getting some PP on import but the k-5iis is not. Just something to check.
01-13-2016, 08:42 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

What jatrax said. LR gives you all the tools you need to increase contrast, saturation, etc.
01-14-2016, 01:20 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
Were you using an import preset? I believe the import presets can be set to be specific to cameras. That means it is possible your k-30 was getting some PP on import but the k-5iis is not. Just something to check.
No presets on import. Raws from both cameras were imported into lightroom as dng with the same basic lightroom settings. I would have thought the images would look the same except that the images would be slightly sharper with the k5iis but surprisingly the k30 images look better as if they have more micro contrast or something. I dunno. Aren't the sensors the same except that the k30 has an thing anti alias filter and slightly less dynamic range.

01-14-2016, 01:35 AM   #5

QuoteOriginally posted by everydaylife Quote