Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-01-2008, 07:30 AM   #1

Camera settings for RAW

Having in the past been an advocate of JPEG and getting your shot right in the first place, I have now seen the error of my ways and have become a RAW convert especially for handheld landscape shots where now I can often recover blown sky and still find shadow detail. I cannot myself achieve this satisfactorily with JPEGs.

But I am still learning and I have questions:

The histogram in the camera is a result of the in-camera RAW to JPEG conversion. Changing the camera settings (brightness, WB etc) changes the histogram.

I always find that if there is a brightly lit red object in the shot this will blow before other colours (K10D) and often, even with RAW it cannot be fully recovered to show the true redness of the object.

Thus it is very important not to expose too far to the right so I always use the histogram and try to underexpose just a tad to preserve redness. (Latest red subjects to give me difficulty have been poppies in a field and Ferrari F1 cars testing at Silverstone.)

But the in-camera histogram simply shows overall mid-tone brightness and avoiding things like slightly blown red poppies needs a bit of guesswork.

So – at last my question – What in-camera settings in terms of image tone, saturation, sharpness, contrast and WB (I currently use auto WB) would you recommend to produce an in-camera histogram that most closely resembles the real RAW data? (note that I don’t care about what the in-camera JPEGs look like – I just use these to check composition and focus)

Any advice would be appreciated.

07-01-2008, 11:36 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery