Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 38 Likes Search this Thread
01-24-2016, 12:28 PM   #1

Poor marketing by Pentax

I'm a huge Pentax fan and have shot nothing else since 1981, and I'm a very keen amateur and occasional pro. It was the SWPP (Society of Wedding and Portrait Photographer's') annual show in London this weekend and Pentax were there BUT I've just had a report from a mate who attended and said the Pentax representation consisted of a desk, two 645Z bodies and some lenses - really??? We're talking less than a month to perhaps the biggest launch Pentax has done since the Spotmatic in 1952 and this is the best they can do at a show targeted at exactly the market they need the full frame to appeal to - working pro's. At the very least I would have turned up with a couple of beta test bodies for people to hold and handle, some marketing material etc. It just seems such a wasted opportunity at what amounts to the UK's second biggest photography show and the only one targeted at the pro market. The show is very large indeed and basically takes over a whole Hilton Hotel for the entire weekend and ALL the top manufacturers attend.

If Pentax want to make serious inroads in the marketplace they absolutely have to get their act together at these things in a much more professional way, especially in the rtun up to a big launch.

Needless to say I just don't understand it - this would be a cheap way to get several thousand professional photographers and major dealers excited and engaged about FF.

Jonlg - If Pentax actually had an email address I would send them this message because somebody in Pentax UK marketing needs a wake up call...

01-24-2016, 12:36 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
If you were such a big Pentax fan, you would know the Spotmatic was not released in 1952.