Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-06-2016, 12:27 PM   #61
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by normhead Quote
But that won't save you from the mindset of most current day photography teachers. With all due respect, they are brand specialized hacks. They can tell you what the Canon solution is, but they can't tell you what the Pentax of Nikon or Sony solution is. The qualifications for teaching photography at a University these days seem to be pretty lax.
Wow Norm....sorry you've had such a poor experience with photo teachers. I'm a photo teacher, perhaps, because I had GREAT life-changing teachers.

Taft Jr. High, George Easterbrooks, built the best darkroom I've ever been in with his own money and time, and started teaching me photography with a Yashica TLR and Konica SLR.

UCLA, Frank Valert, escaped Soviet invaded Czechoslovakia in 1968. A passionate genius in cinematography.

Boston University, Amy Lithimane, while getting my masters in art education, she was younger than any of the students. Brilliant and motivational.

I have colleagues and ex-students from Emily Carr U. of Art & Design in Vancouver, Cal Arts, CCA in Oakland, Chapman, RIT, York, the list would bore you, but if anything, most are overqualified. And this is not to mention all the awesome workshops that are run by the likes of Dewitt Jones, Gerd Ludwig, and many others.

I have no doubt the glass may be half empty, but please know that for some, no class and no teacher will help them become skilled photographers, but for others, they need and want formal instruction and there are excellent photo educators among us.

02-06-2016, 12:28 PM   #62
Veteran Member
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Nicolas06 Quote
A must see for anybody that is thinking he doesn't have good enough gea