Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-03-2008, 05:09 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Prime 70mm or Tamron 28-75?

I'm just starting out and have a 50 f/1.4 on the K100D.

Cost aside, would your experience suggest going for a prime (Pentax 70 or 77mm) with the hassle of lens changing but the best possible sharpness, or the top rated Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 for convenience and all-around utility?

I have tried the 18-55 but quickly found I was doing most of my shooting closer at 35> and it just didn't give me the quality I was looking for... plus I'm most interested in tight images converted to B&W best possible sharpness.

FHPhotog

07-03-2008, 06:46 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
We're at the point in technology where the practical image quality considerations of top-notch lenses like this are really negligible in all except very specific circumstances.

I think the more important consideration is one of photographic style. For me, prime lenses enhance my enjoyment while shooting, and they help me to be a better photographer.
07-03-2008, 07:36 PM   #3
Veteran Member

my thoughts, you have a 50 so a covered for low light etc. I'd pick up the tamron next, I dont find lens changing a hassle but it is an extremely good lens and will give a lot of versatility, mine is extremely sharp wide open to about 60mm and at 75 from f3.5. the 70 & 77 are both nice and both would be sharper at say 2.8 and would possibly be what I would look at next (or perhaps 100mm macro)
07-03-2008, 07:58 PM   #4
Pentaxian

You have asked here the perfect question to generate possibly 1000 different and correct answers.

I won't start by trying to sell you on my set up, because if I was to start all over, I might approach it differently, but that is me, and this post is about what you should do.