Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-28-2016, 12:20 PM   #1

2016 Camera Upgrade

Hi there,

I've been using a Rebel XT / 350D for the past 4 years and recently I thought about upgrading. I'm using a lot of m42 lenses with AF confirm adapters so I'm not bound to any Camera makers in particular (I'm free!). I really like my 350D, it's a little workhorse but I could use a bigger viewfinder and the live view.

Requirements:
- Can shot with m42 lenses.
- AF confirm need to work with m42 lenses as I wear glasses and can't solely rely on my eyes (Well, sometimes I'm spot on, sometimes I'm not).
- The budget is between 180/250USD

I've been thinking about the Pentax K-7, Canon 50D, Pentax K-30 & Canon 550D.

Thank you for your time.

02-28-2016, 12:32 PM   #2
amateur dirt farmer...

Photos: Gallery | Albums
new K-50's are under $300 at B&H... that may stretch your budget a bit, but it's a great camera....
02-28-2016, 12:34 PM   #3
Imp
Pentaxian

+1 the K-50, you can't go wrong
02-28-2016, 12:42 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
If you like your Canon, you'll be more familiar with the layout/ergonomics of another Canon.

But I'd have to say +2 on the K-50, by far the best value and IQ for a new camera plus warranty. With it you'd get In Body Image Stabilization with your lenses, a body that is WR, bigger-brighter pentaprism finder, AA batteries in a pinch with an adapter, better low light/high ISO, and the live view.

02-28-2016, 12:55 PM   #5
Pentaxian

The 50D will likley feel better in hand than the k50. It will also have better autpfocus but thats a mute point for m42 lenses. But the sensor is worse than the k50
02-28-2016, 01:04 PM   #6
Pentaxian