Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-06-2008, 02:55 PM   #1

perils of SR too close?

I just got my K20D, and I was working with a DS before that, so I'm new to this `shake reduction' stuff, and I have what's probably a pretty basic question: they say not to use shake reduction up close - does this mean that it will be actively counterproductive, or just that it shouldn't be relied on? (That is, if I'm shooting close handheld, do I need to remember to turn it off, or just to make sure the shutter is fast enough that I won't need it?)

07-06-2008, 03:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I wouldn't worry about it either way, the only time that SR has ruined my shot was when I forgot to turn it off on the tripod.

The chances are pretty good that you won't even require the feature on 99% of your shots anyways

Have fun with it
07-07-2008, 02:30 AM   #3
Inactive Account

I agree with little laker here, SR tends to ruin more shots than it helps. I can't recall a time when I actively used SR for any real purpose. I have played around with it at home but can't see any tangible increase in image quality.
07-07-2008, 05:59 AM   #4
Site Supporter

There are threads on this forum where people have posted examples where SR has allowed longer exposures without blur. Also, some magazine reviews have examples of Pentax SR working. Myself, I leave it on almost all the time except when on a tripod. I don't have any definitive A/B comparisons but I've taken a LOT of shots at 200 and 300 mm hand held and I'm not the steadiest person around.

If all your exposures are under 1/60th second than you don't need SR but it should not hurt either.

Last edited by LeoTaylor; 07-07-2008 at 06:01 AM. Reason: Added last sentence
07-07-2008, 06:11 AM   #5
Site Supporter