Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-07-2008, 08:23 PM   #1

What next for my K100d

Since it's my birthday my wife wants to buy me something for my K100d. Budget is around $300, so I am thinking flash or lens. I already have the kit 18-55 and a 50-200 mm lens. I was thinking I would like the 540 flash but have been reading a few bad reviews about a pin breaking off. I have also been thinking wide angle lens.
I am a newbie looking for suggestions from those more experienced than I for the $300 addition for my new hobby. I now take mostly outdoor or travel photos but at some point in time I want to start taking interior shots.
Thanks in advance for any and all help.

07-07-2008, 08:31 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If I had to do it all over again I'd buy a flash before stocking up on the different lenses.
Although I won't recommend which one to buy.

I just found that it opened up a world of creativity when I got one.

Make sure that you can fire it as a remote slave, then you can use it as a remote flash. The pop-up should trigger it
07-07-2008, 10:14 PM   #3
Inactive Account

In the $300 range I would highly recommend the FA 50mm f1.4 or the DA 40mm f2.8 limited lens. You could also pick up a reflector set to go with it! This would provide you with at least one fast lens for indoor or low light use, and a great portrait type lens. The reflectors would also allow for some creative use of "available" light. I have the FA 50mm 1.4 and like it very much, though Ive been looking at the 40mm limited as of late too! Hope that helps!
07-07-2008, 11:35 PM   #4
Inactive Account

I would look at the Sigma 530 flash if I were you. Your lenses have you covered for general focal lengths.

07-08-2008, 12:05 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by NicholasN Quote
I would look at the Sigma 530 flash if I were you. Your lenses have you covered for general focal lengths.