Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-08-2008, 09:27 PM   #1
Inactive Account

lightroom vs photoshop

what's the big difference? i've had mixed reviews on what is the editing tool of choice for the professional photographer. i myself have been dedicating SERIOUS hours to learning photoshop inside and out lately and would be super sad if it's not THE thing to know how to use. thoughts?!

07-08-2008, 09:40 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Firstly I am NOT a professional photog....but I do have lightroom.

Lightroom is for storing, archiving, managing and adjusting exposure, saturation, sharpness etc of your photographs (including converting from RAW to jpeg).

Photoshop is for the other things you may want to do after you exhausted yourself in lightroom. I dont use it.

However, I had a play with an Apple mac and Aperture.......... WOW!! Thats where I will be heading next. I am having so many PC issues, I'm really over the whole windows thing.
Do yourself a favour, go into an Apple Shop and have a play, they are amazing and Aperture (which I understand is basically lightroom for Mac)
is great to use....and fast, oh so wonderfully, beautifully.....fffffffffffaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!
07-08-2008, 09:58 PM   #3
Inactive Account

what Mallee Boy said... Lightroom is for managing you photo library and "prepping" them for Photoshop. For some photographers Lightroom is enough and Photoshop can be avoided. However, if you get yourself addicted to layers, masks, smart objects, etc, you will forever need Photoshop because Lightroom does not do that stuff. Lightroom is basically Bridge with a memory (it can track images on external volumes even when the volume is not connected).

I gave up Lightroom for Aperture. I'd like to give up Photoshop, but I can't. Addicted.
07-08-2008, 10:48 PM   #4
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

The key is in the name...