Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-09-2008, 09:35 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Updated info on removing the Pentax IR filter for Astro and IR imaging

It has been over a year since I modified my Pentax K110D camera by removing the internal IR blocking filter. Some new information has surfaced so it is time for an update on the project. I am not an expert, just someone who has enjoyed using a filterless camera which may be of interest to other people. This message is rather long if you are not interested in the subject.

Warning: I am not advising that anyone remove the internal filter in their camera. It is not a project for the faint at heart, and will void any warrantee. The filterless camera will not be good for normal daytime photography.

I’ve been very happy with my K100D purchased in November 2006. In the Spring of 2007 I purchased a K110D with the intent of making a dedicated Astrophotography camera by removing the internal filter. Why a K110D? At $349 it was the lowest priced DSLR at the time. My wife and I have several manual lenses. The sensor and filter are mounted solidly on the circuit board, I did not want to deal with a floating Share Reduction system.

Why remove the internal filter?

Two reasons: Astrophotography and Infrared Photography