Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-10-2008, 02:02 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
What do the different functions do? When do you use them?

Hi,

I am a newbie trying to get a handle on photography.

I usually shoot in Ap. priority or Manual.

What are the other functions used for? Program, Bulb etc. (I know the icons are for point & shoot. I don't use them.

Sorry for the newbie question. Be gentle.

07-10-2008, 02:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Quick rundown:

Av - Aperture Priority: You set the aperture and ISO, shutter is set automatically
Tv - Shutter Priority: You set the shutter and ISO, aperture is set automatically
Sv - Sensitivity (ISO) Priority: You set the ISO, aperture and shutter are set automatically
TAv - Aperture and Shutter Priority: You set the shuter and aperture, ISO is set automatically
Bulb - Same as manual, except the shutter stays open as long as the button is pressed. Used for getting exposures longer than 30sec.
X - Flash Sync: For using an external flash
P - Hyper Program: Automatically sets the aperture and shutter according to the Program Line. There are four settings for it that have preferences for normal or high-speed shooting, or for maximizing DOF or lens sharpness.
07-10-2008, 02:15 PM   #3
Pentaxian

There is a lot of information that people could provide as answers to your question(s). First I would suggest reading the manual (I know it's not written very well, but there is a lot of good stuff there). There are also a lot of good sites on the web on photography basics (just type in photography basics on google). You'll also find some good information on the Petax web site PENTAX digiich Good luck and have fun with your camera.
07-10-2008, 02:15 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Av - sets the aperture and lets the camera pick the shutter speed
Tv - sets the shutter speed and lets the camera pick the aperture